Guesting on Margrét Helgadóttir’s blog to talk about “Mindswitch”

Mindswitch by Chris Galvin NguyenNorwegian-Icelandic writer Margrét Helgadóttir recently extended a kind invitation to write a guest post on her blog. She was curious about my inspiration for my story Mindswitch in the anthology Impossible Spaces (Hic Dragones, 2013). She also asked about how and why I write short stories. I was happy to accept, and in doing so, to join the Impossible Spaces Blog Tour.

Hope you’ll drop by Margrét’s blog to read my post. I’ve written a bit about what happened when I decided to change my main character from male to female, and how, when I named her Hiền (Vietnamese name meaning gentle, mild, sweet or meek), this gave me the rest of the story. I also discuss the immigrant experience, which can in itself be an impossible space.

Warmest thanks to Margrét, for inviting me to write a guest post on her blog. Margrét also has a story, Shadow, in the anthology, which she recently talked about in a guest post on Rachel Yelding’s blog. Rachel is yet another contributor to Impossible Spaces. Do click the Blog Post image below, which will warp you over to the links to all the guest posts by the contributors taking part.

Praise for Impossible Spaces:
An important collection that every fan of short stories, be they ghostly, strange or weird, should read.M.R. Cosby

Impossible Spaces Blog Tour

 

About Chris

Chris writes
This entry was posted in Fiction, News, Publications and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guesting on Margrét Helgadóttir’s blog to talk about “Mindswitch”

  1. It was a pleasure to host such a lovely post. Thank you so much. I loved the story, so I was delighted to hear more about it. Intriguing that you changed the main character this much. :)

What do you think?

