Multitasking

Burning Pancakes and missing the weather report-                                                                      Writing poetry on the sideboard,
butter spatters the page.

About Chris

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Multitasking

  1. This reminds me of my life!! Meals here are often burnt because I just have to do one more things first… Enjoyed looking through your stones, very nice! (althought I’m very distracted now by the thought of that woman’s fuzzy green shoes)

  2. J.A. Pak says:

    Butter makes everything better! 😉

  3. Berit says:

    Thanks for this small stone. I love the rhythm and clear images in it, and the frying sound of the word “spatter”.

    I burn my food almost every day like that due to being distracted and impatient. 🙂

    • Sometimes writing is synonymous with “head in the clouds”. As I read your comment, I realized that the funny smell was pizza burning in the oven; had to take it out before I could answer. And that’s the truth! (And yet I love to cook.)

  4. I like this one. Probably because I spatter food on my notes all the time. When the voices in your head get loud who has time to worry about drippy snacks? 🙂

What do you think?

