Poplars

Land striped

horizontal
rays of light

alternating
with long shadows

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Poplars

  1. Berit says:

    Liked the freeform and yet haiku feel of this!

  2. chris says:

    Thanks Berit! Originally, I had written it as haiku, but then rearranged it to reflect the horizontal bands of light. Now it’s freeform haiku. 🙂

  3. yamabuki says:

    Crisscrossed words delight the eye

    Melting into lights command
    Spirits dance among the leaves

    Shadows lay along the land
    Darker still than evil thoughts

    yamabuki

    • chris says:

      Spirits dance in poplar leaves

      Hamadryads sing
      Melodies in tune with trees

      Shadows retreat and light remains
      Within the sacred grove

      Chris

  4. yamabuki says:

    Among the trees gambol Fauns

    Catching spirits with their songs
    Silver Pan pipes light their way

    Nor does darkness gives them pause
    On shadow’s edges do they prey

    yamabuki

  5. Lunar Hine says:

    Waiting
    for something worth stating



    frustrating

  6. yamabuki says:

    Early morning Moon

    Riding high among the trees
    Growing big in lunar brightness

    She casts my fainter shadow
    Into the deeper ruins of darkness

    yamabuki

  7. chris says:

    Sol anoints the day’s new sky

    My shadow sees rebirth
    Marks my place on Terra’s girth

    Luna sinks into the trees
    A silver orb among the leaves

    Chris

  8. yamabuki says:

    Morning prayers caress the trees

    And in the early dawning dew
    I bid departing moon adieu

    Waking birds anoint the day
    Hummingbirds come out to play

    yamabuki

  9. Ashliegh Gehl says:

    In the willow’s wake
    A broken shadow

    Robin yanks worm from lawn

  10. goldsongayle says:

    We slumber in the lower deeps
    Cool our spirits lie

    Above us flit the spawn of Sol
    To and fro ‘cross blue green and black

    Momentary sparks bright against greater darkness

    Noel

  11. Haikus are amazing: they can say so much in a few lines. Poplars has that effect.

  12. goldsongayle says:

    This has actually inspired me to take up back poetry. I have a tumblr account that I barely use, which I will now dedicate to inflicting my poetry upon anyone that will read it.

    This is entirely your fault. I reserve the right to point others to you when they ask me whatever made me think I should take up poetry writing again.

    🙂

    • chris says:

      Cool! I’m thrilled to be the cause of someone taking up (or re-taking up) poetry. Can’t wait to check out your poetic “inflictions”. I’ll add your link to my blog-roll.

  13. Hi Chris,
    Thank you for dropping by my blog and leaving a message. You’re so sweet. Well, I already teach so in that sense I have experience. However, I don’t have the “teaching writing fiction” experience. To answer your question, the editing class I’m taking is just to help me with my own editing (to improve my editing skills and perhaps use it some day as an editor). My class is so-so. I thought it would be more “hands on”. This is how you really learn. There’s too much lecture that comes from the book, which is exactly the same material. I can read this at home on my own time so I find it unnecessary in class. Ah yes, there’s something wrong with my blog. 😦 I’m still trying to figure out what it is. It’s been acting up for more than a week. Once again, thanks for your comment.

  14. yamabuki says:

    Visions of Poplar
    Half hidden in Clouds

    Last year’s Rain
    This year’s Snow

    Longing still haunts my dreams

    yamabuki

  15. chris says:

    Autumnal equinox approaches
    Poplars will shed their leaves

    All seasons come full circle
    Everything shall pass

    The soul is filled with calm
    Om mani padme hum

What do you think?

