Seven Blogs and Seven Things

Fellow blogger and author Berit Ellingsen recently awarded me with The Versatile Blogger Award. I’m honoured and surprised, because I’ve been rather irregular with my blog posts recently. Thanks so much, Berit!

According to the rules of the award, I have to pass on the award to up to fifteen other bloggers. In searching for the history of this award, I’ve noticed that most people name a full fifteen, preferably new blogs. Some folks have named five or ten. I wish I had time to read fifteen regularly, but I don’t. The award  also obliges me to list seven things about myself, so in favour of symmetry, here are seven blogs and seven things.

Seven Blogs:

JA Pak   has to be the most versatile blogger on my list. She juggles four blogs on different topics (writing, food, living in L.A, and television), her main website, and a blog novella. All worth checking out. Impressive!

Claudia Del Balso is a busy writer and blogger who passes on useful links, tips and ideas about writing. She shares her own experiences and growth as a writer and offers encouragement and support to others who like to put pen to paper or fingers to keypad.

Valerie Storey is the author of seven books, and she also creates poetry, hand-built pottery and collage. She shares all kinds of interesting artistic ideas, experiences and inspiration on her blog.

Lynda Bruce  is a visual artist and poet. She is a woman of many talents, and her blog features her gorgeous paintings and word-blending magic.

dVerse Poets – is really meeting place where over one hundred poet-bloggers meet regularly, discuss poetry and share links to the poems on their blogs. All poets, new poets and old hands, are welcome to post a link, and visit the others’ blogs.  dVerse Poets isn’t a personal blog, it’s a poets’ community blog, and I believe they deserve the award because it succeeds in bringing together a great group of people from all over to share their poems, their knowledge of poetry, and their encouragement.

Sticky Rice is Mark Lowerson’s drool-inducing Vietnam food blog. His writing will make you hungry, and his photos guarantee that you will be back for more. In amongst all the delicious food writing are plenty of posts on all aspects of what life is like for an expat in Vietnam.

Chef Shane is another food blogger based in Vietnam. He blogs about cooking, recipes, life in Vietnam and more. He keeps his knife and his wit very sharp. Great photos and writing here.

 Seven Things:

-Have learned to speak 5 languages fluently (not counting mother tongue), and forgotten two.

-I wish I could speak a Chinese language, but I was never able to decide which one to study.

-If I could change just one thing about myself, I would be able to sing well.

-Love to cook, eat and try new foods and cuisines.

-Strangest thing I ever ate: fried ants (tasted like rancid oil). One food that will never grow on me: blue cheese. (can’t get past the mould flavour.)

-Love hot weather, humidity, shimmering heat.

-I’m reading two books right now:
Tomatoland: How Modern Industrial Agriculture Destroyed Our Most Alluring Fruit, by Barry Estabrook

Sam Tren Nui, by Chau Dien

 

 

About Chris

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, News, Poetry, Viet Nam and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Seven Blogs and Seven Things

  1. John Wong says:

    Wonderful, Chris! The Internet can be a cold, impersonal space but writers like you create cozy niches for sharing and inspiration.

  2. Awww! Thank you, Chris for passing on this award to me 🙂
    That’s very kind of you. I love your list of seven things about you. VERY interesting indeed!
    Like you, I love studying languages and experiencing exotic cuisine. I love dancing and secretly wish I would have been a professional ballroom dancer 😉

    • chris says:

      You could take a course! Maybe you’d be great at it. It’s a pleasure to pass the award on to you. You certainly deserve it for the great job you are doing with your blog. Thanks for your kind comments. I really didn’t know what to write about myself. Took a while to come up with something.

  3. P.S. I included your award under my “Blog Awards” tab 😉

  4. J.A. Pak says:

    Thanks so much for including me! Of course, I already knew about the blue cheese! 😉

  5. Thank you so much, Chris–times 7! Really appreciate being included in your list. I’ve been so busy with proofing the new book I’ve neglected my blog these last couple of weeks–soon to be remedied, and of course will be featuring YOU! Happy Autumn.

  6. Berit says:

    Great to see you awarded someone else. 🙂

    So sad when languages languish from misuse. I have one of those too.
    Which languages have you retained and which did you forget? German? French?

    • chris says:

      It IS sad. As a teen, I remember thinking I could collect languages. Didn’t know then that you have to use them, or they will indeed languish. I use French and Vietnamese every day, and German sometimes. I’ve forgotten Spanish, but can still understand a fair bit. Not enough to converse. I used to speak Twi (Ghanaian language) but that’s gone too. 😦

      Thanks again for the award Berit!

  7. chefagogo says:

    Your thoughtfulness never ceases to amaze me.
    I appreciate your kind words and award more than you could imagine.
    Nice to see your 7 things. I can sing, but most people shudder as I make up the lyrics. And I’d now need 3 bottles of wine and a mask to attempt Karaoke 🙂
    I want what you’ve got. Languages baffle me. It’s all Greek to me. Or Swahili. Or US English. All impenetrable.
    I HOPE you would try fried ant after my blog, and would recommend a “sweet” gorgonzola dolce as a Gateway Drug to blue cheese. NEVER start with Danish or Stilton or it will result in gagging, tears and chagrin.
    You Rock!

    • chris says:

      Thanks so much for your comment, Shane. You really deserve that award.
      I, too, would need 3 bottles of wine and a mask to attempt karaoke.
      Thanks so much for all those delightful recipes and ideas on your blog. The blue cheese though? Just say NO to blue cheese. 😀

What do you think?

