The intermittent blogger, and an update on the state of the book.

Haven’t been writing much here on the blog lately. Instead, I’ve been lost in a flurry of flinging stories out of the nest and hoping they’ll fly. I’m also hard at work on Breakfast Under the Boddhi Tree. I thought I was nearly there; ready to begin the querying process. However, several of my essays resist all attempts to polish them up, and at this point I’m considering rewriting a few of them. In the mean time, I shall continue to live with bits of manuscript littering the sofa and windowseat.

About Chris

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The intermittent blogger, and an update on the state of the book.

  1. Berit says:

    Know the feeling of rewrites. If you feel there is something that needs to be changed with the chapters, follow the gut feeling. Sometimes it can mean more work, but I have not seen the inner editor be wrong yet, and it usually does improve the work. At least it becomes more like what you wish it to be.

    I find that when one is preparing a manuscript, one can’t be too careful. Don’t rush the process.

    Glad to hear you will give it a shot with queries. Best of luck with finding a publisher for the book and the stories!

    • chris says:

      Berit, you’re so right about the inner editor. Often, when we aren’t sure of something, we ask for another’s opinions, which then confirm our misgivings.

      Thanks so much for your comments and encouragement.

  2. Libby says:

    Good Luck – and don’t throw anything out in case you change your mind!

  3. OMG! That’s what I was doing today: Revisiting old stories and editing. I’ve had two crazy months and today I decided not to do anything but write. Good luck with your essays, Chris!

  4. Thank you so much for the kind comment you left about my limerick. I love weaving news stories into poetry and am glad someone noticed all the things I connected in those five lines! 🙂

    Good luck with your manuscript! (I’m slowly working on putting together my first.) I’ve subscribed to your RSS and am looking forward to reading more of your work.

What do you think?

