Book Spine Poetry

A little over a year ago, I was browsing Stan Carey’s blog, Sentence First, when I came across his book mashups. I’ve been meaning to play with my own books ever since, to see what I could come up with. Here’s my first one, in honour of  summer.

 

 

 

 

 


Dandelion wine
from the foot of the mountain –
tottering in my garden

Thanks to Stan Carey for the idea, and to the the authors: Claudia Morrison, Ray Bradbury, and Midge Ellis Keeble.

This poem is joining a bunch of other great poems on Open Link Nights at dVerse Poets Pub. Join us over at dVerse Poets pub, 3 pm EST every Wednesday.

About Chris

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Book Spine Poetry

  1. Pingback: Book spine mashups « Sentence first

  2. Hi Chris,
    Thanks for stopping by. I left you a message on my blog 😉

  3. brian says:

    ha…nice…wonder what i could do interesting with book titles…

  4. i love when a line makes me smile and get all happy on the inside! and this one did it for me! nice brevity!
    LOVE!~

    Kellie
    @BackyardPonders

  5. Pat Hatt says:

    Very nicely done, I did this with movies time and time again. Book title hmmm might have to be done.

  6. claudia says:

    so cool..think i have to try this as well… some book titles are poetry in themselves..

  7. C Rose says:

    very fun way to pull poetry from all that surrounds! ~ Rose

  8. Ravenblack says:

    This is interesting. Might try it. 🙂

  9. morning says:

    using book title to write, wow, what an idea.

    cool verse.

  10. what cool idea. found poetry in book titles. Dada lives! 🙂

  11. Very cool idea! I think maybe I’ve seen this once before, but I’ve never tried it myself. 🙂

  12. Pingback: Book Spine Poetry #2 | Chris Galvin

What do you think?

