Flood Season

Issue 16 of gorgeous international lit mag Asian Cha is now out, and I’m thrilled to have my non-fiction piece,  Flood Season, in their pages!

On March 15, I had the honour of reading Flood Season at the Yellow Door Coffeehouse  in Montréal, as part of their Thursday Prose and Poetry readings. Thanks to  artistic director and local writer Ilona Martonfi for inviting me!

 Flood Season is an excerpt from my forthcoming book, Breakfast Under the Boddhi Tree, now in its final editing stages.

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Books, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, Creative Non-Fiction, Memoir, Nature, News, Publications, Viet Nam, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Flood Season

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Fantastic! Such beautiful imagery. It reminds me of when I lived on Okinawa. The damp was so pervasive everything grew mold, including plastic. We had light bulbs in the closets to warm and dry the air, although it didn’t seem to help much.

  2. Berit says:

    Very atmospheric and descriptive piece from a drowned world!

    Great read and good to hear the reading went well! 🙂

    Would have been nice to hear this piece read. Best of luck with the finishing touches of the book.

    • chris says:

      Thanks so much, Berit! A woman from a local radio station was there recording the whole event, so I’m hoping to find out when they will air it, and it may also be online. I’ll let you know!

  3. I’m so happy to hear you read at the Yellow Door. 🙂 Ilona Martonfi is nice. I took one of her workshops and I’ve been to her readings. I hope we can meet soon. 😉

    • chris says:

      The Yellow Door is a great place. There are some really good readings coming up. Maybe I’ll run into you at one of them. Ilona will be reading this Thursday, April 5, along with several other great writers.

  4. Quirina says:

    I loved reading your piece … I really felt the extraordinary spirit of the Vietnamese people that I like so very much. Your writing is manna from heaven, Chris. 🙂

    • chris says:

      Much of my writing is inspired by Viet Nam and the people; glad to hear you enjoyed the piece. Thanks so much for your generous comment!

What do you think?

