Book Spine Poetry #2

strange news from another star-
things fall apart
among the believers

Thanks to authors Hermann Hesse, Chinua Achebe and V.S. Naipaul. Thanks to Stan Carey for the  book mashups idea.

I posted my first book spine poem a few months ago, with the intention of doing several more. National Poetry Month seemed like the perfect excuse to play with my books to see what else I could come up with.

I’d love to hear from others who create poetry from book spines. Please leave a comment, a link, or a pingback if you join the fun.

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Books, Haiku, National Poetry Month, Photos, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Book Spine Poetry #2

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Ha, I love it. I imagine the idea is to grab books at random and see what you come up with? I have a habit of blending lines when I’m reading (not sure if it’s a variant of dyslexia?) where I read part of the line underneath the one I intend to read, and come up with some strange things that way.

    • chris says:

      Then you’d probably be great at book spine mashups! Let me know if you try it. I just look through my bookshelves to see if any titles work together. This one fell right into place.

  2. That is brilliant! What a terrific idea. I love it, and I love the poem you created out of the titles. Very creative!

  3. marousia says:

    Love this idea – I shall try it now – love the one you have done – reminds me of Dada collage

  4. Pingback: Book Spine Poem 1 « Marousia

  5. Dreaming While Awake (Arnold Mindell)
    On My Way to Paradise (Dave Wolverton)
    The Opposite of Fate (Amy Tan)
    Strange Itineraries (Tim Powers)
    Hocus Pocus (Kurt Vonnegut)

  6. What a neat idea! I had never really heard of creating a poem that way. I loved the titles you chose.

  7. Pingback: Bookmash: Time, love and summer « Sentence first

What do you think?

