Hunger

throwaway daughter
swallowing clouds—
hunger

.

Thanks to the authors: Ting-Xing Ye, A. Zee, and Lan Samantha Chang.

“Hunger” is my 16th poem, for day 16 of National Poetry Month. Fourteen more to go! They won’t all be book spine poems, but some will. I’m really enjoying composing these; I’m looking at my books in a new way, noticing different threads that tie groups of books together (how did I amass so many with titles related to eating?) and thinking about what combinations of words it takes to make a poem. I’m also realizing that I’m ready to reread certain books, and looking forward to doing so.

Twitter friend D.D. Syrdal has tried her hand at her first book spine poem with magical results! Do click the link to read it. Has anyone else given this a try yet? Feel free to post your links in the comments.

This poem is linked to dVerse Poets Open Link Night Week 40. Why not post a poem on your blog and join us?

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Books, Haiku, National Poetry Month, Photos, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Hunger

  1. Atomic Lobster
    Revelation
    Once Bitten

  2. I like how these titles flowed. Congrats on making it through NaPoWriMo so far. On the home stretch now!

  3. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Thanks for the kind words 🙂 This is fun, kind of like those magnetic poetry kits. I can see it becoming addictive!

  4. I am so excited on seeing your book spine poetry that I am trying one now 🙂
    Namesake
    You are here
    Mistress

    http://sulekharawat.com/2012/04/17/ode-to-my-hero/

  5. Quirina says:

    I don’t like the idea of a daughter being thrown away, but I do like, very much, your book-spine poetry. It is such fun! Here is mine, and equally macabre:

    Traces

    White fever,
    death by Black Hole,
    human traces …

    http://themindssky.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/traces/

  6. claudia says:

    hmm..think i have to look at my books…think that’s an interesting idea though the throwaway daughter made me swallow hard…no easy titles you picked for your poem..sometimes i wish i could drink the clouds..but that’s just me…smiles

  7. brian miller says:

    that opening line is like a punch in the gut….hunger might be a bit of the emotion that this engenders…perhaps for a better world where that does not exist…

  8. This is incredible. Brilliant. All of it. Incredible, I’m repeating it in my head.

  9. Well, when in Rome…

    A little larger than the entire universe
    book of longing
    save twilight.

    I should do this more. Thank you for this!

  10. That’s a lovely combination. Throwaway daughter…Ouch! LOL

  11. tashtoo says:

    Yup…Throwaway daughter stole my breath for a moment as well…let me see…(eyes wonder round the book room) um….

    Power, Freedom and Grace
    The Power of Your Subconscious Mind
    The Spontaneous Fulfillment of Desire

    Gotta love Deepak!

  12. Interesting exercise, and product. I like it.

  13. Interesting post, Chris! I love that those titles fit so well together. Really cool!

  14. C Rose says:

    Interesting method and form…a grabbing bite ~ Rose

  15. hobgoblin2011 says:

    Really neat. Love using the titles as you have here. Very creative. Thanks

  16. chris says:

    Thanks, all of you, for reading and for commenting. 🙂

What do you think?

