The Merry Merry Month of May

So, poetry month is over, and a new month has begun. I won’t be posting as much, because I intend to get back to editing my book. I’ve also promised myself to send out at least ten submissions in the next few days, to make up for having sent out so few in the last two months. Befitting the end of the poem blast, I sent three poems out to a journal last night. Godspeed, little poems!

My intentions for May’s blog posts include a book review and a culinary post or three. Poetry can happen at any time.

So how about you? What are you doing on your blog in May?

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Merry Merry Month of May

  1. Mark says:

    Bloviate. And maybe some short attempts at fiction. And more blather about daily life. And stuff….

    • chris says:

      Bloviate; neat word! I like it. Would love to read your fiction. And stuff, well, I always like to read stuff. 🙂

      • Mark says:

        Years ago, I read _The Shadow of Blooming Grove: Warren G. Harding in His Times_ and there were many references to Harding bloviating. It is such an obscure word that spell-check wants to make it bloating. Probably a good call…

        And if you like to read “stuff” there’s a couple of new posts of “stuff” to enjoy and more to come. I subscribed to your blog so’s I no longer miss anything.

  2. I started May with a new poem, “Only a kiss she asks” The poem for some reason wanted to change from my usual five line stanzas, to a pattern of two lines, three lines, one line, then four lines. So I went with that pattern instead.

    On another note, I got spam comments on my poem “While you were sleeping” I was tempted to turn the spam into a poem, but decided not to.

    I enjoyed your story, “Slanting Rain” on Fictionaut. I reminds me of a description I read long ago, of how spirits shape the physical worlds.

  3. Berit says:

    Congratulations on completing April with all the poems. 🙂

    Best of luck with the submissions in May!

    It’s National Short Story Month, so hope to write some short stories, but not aiming for one per day as you did with in poetry month. 🙂

    • chris says:

      I’d love to be able to write a flash a day, but I found the poem a day thing took all my spare time away from working on the book. Problem is, I haven’t had much spare time. Gotta get off Twitter, too. 😀

      Looking forward to reading your stories! Will you put some up on the blog, or sub them? Or some of each?

      • Berit says:

        Yeah, that’s why I don’t want to commit to writing a poem or a short story per day. It’s no fun if it becomes a chore.

        Will focus on finishing up the current stories and finding homes for the still homeless ones. 🙂

  4. chris says:

    Yamabuki, it’s probably always best to follow the poem in the direction it wants to go. Will head over to your blog to read the poem.
    A while back, I had a really long spam comment that I thought I might turn into a poem, but then in the end, made the same decision you did.
    Thanks for reading “Slanting Rain”. The poem “Breathless”, which I posted on April 29, was born out of that piece. I was thinking of turning the whole thing into a group of poems. May still do so. I’d love to read that description you mentioned. Is it available somewhere?

  5. Spirits shaping the physical realms, complicated that is. Somewhere spread out within the books “Journey of Souls” and “Destiny of Souls” is where I found it. The Author Michael Newton is a hypnotherapist who seems to have found evidence of “life” between lives. I’m inclined to give credence to his findings, though I suspect that language cannot do justice to peoples experiences as recalled through hypnosis, much the same as the way language does not do justice to our dreams.

    • chris says:

      There is so much for which language is insufficient. Especially that liminal space. Thanks for the reference. I don’t know Newton’s work; will look into it.

  6. Joseph Hesch says:

    I’m going to try keeping up with the amount of poetry I created in April. Certainly not every day, but at least two or three per week. I also intend to put a short story or two on the blog during May. Yeah, ambitious for an old literary layabout, but no one said they all had to be New Yorker-worthy. 😉
    Thanks for your comment over at my place, Chris! ~ j

    • chris says:

      Poems are like photographs; the more you make, the more bad ones there will be, but oh, so many more good ones. And more to choose from. Looking forward to reading your short stories, too.

  7. I know what you mean! I am going to continue with the NaHaiWriMo daily haiku! I write several haiku (drafts), post one on their site. I hope to write a few short stories and submit to a couple of places too. And read, read, read!
    Have a good month!

    • chris says:

      Those sound like excellent plans! I didn’t know that the NaHaiWriMo site was continuing with daily haiku. I’ll have to take a look. Thanks for mentioning that. I’ll read your contributions while I’m over there.

What do you think?

