Stream of conciousness

I’m fixing a hole where the rain gets in
And stops my mind from wandering
Where it will go
–   Paul McCartney

Leave the holes there
let the rain come in
let the mind slip out
slip through, slip slip stream

Slip through consciousness
stream of consciousness
conscious, concientious. Objection!

your honour is at stake
eat a steak, use a steely knife
just can’t kill the beast
beast and his beauty, there’s beauty in the beast

beauty slips away, definitions blur, blurry eyed
bleary-eyed what do you see? Dictionary definitions
social constrictions, skin-deep beauty
slipping away, age before beauty, but the beauty of the mind

ageless, timeless
don’t let it slip away grab it as it goes
don’t go with the majority
what’s your priority? Listen to your mind

don’t mind me. The me is the I
the I Me Mine
learn to let that go
drop the E add a D

just open the mind
slip through, ride the slipstream
stream of conciousness let it  take you where it will
Let your mind wander out when the rain comes in…

This poem is in response to Victoria Slotto’s post about stream-of-conciousness writing.  for the dVerse Poets’ Meeting the Bar week. In her post, she mentions an assignment from an instructor during a student nursing rotation, in which the students had to spend a day journalling ALL of their thoughts. Victoria’s observations about this style of writing are really worth a read. Do check it out! She also includes a beguiling poem by Irene, entitled the mind is a flickering thing. This is one of those poems that just stops me in my tracks!

Have you ever experimented with this style of writing? If you are so inclined, read Victoria’s post, write your own stream-of-conciousness poem, and add your link to the Mr. Linky under her post.

About Chris

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Stream of conciousness

  1. claudia says:

    ha nice…this reads like a real journey of the mind, pacing from one door to the next, then slippig out of the window, back in again and all connects somehow… my mind works like this as well…nicely penned chris

  2. brian miller says:

    ha this is like word association to me…i would not mind a steak though will only kill the beast for food you know…not sport…dont go with the majority, what is your priority…key questions in there too man…nice river in your words man…

  3. Hello fellow journo in the making! Loved this play on the Beatles Hun. It’s funny where your mind takes you when you listen to music. I avoid paint it black by the stones for this reason!

  4. Like otters at play, rivulets of association, mossy rocks (slippery thoughts), a wonderful romp!

  5. Wow, talk about busy, busy, busy. LOL A LOT of thoughts wandering at will in this but, such a steady, constant stream that all flows with such ease into one another.
    A really good read, some parts of which made me smile. Thank you! 🙂

  6. Eve Redwater says:

    “Slip through consciousness
    stream of consciousness
    conscious, concientious. Objection!” love this! It’s as though the mind is having an argument with itself! Great stream of thought Chris!

  7. I just love how the words propel you from one point to another, just like it happens in our lives. Associative thought–an aspect of S-o-C poetry/prose I hadn’t thought of but as I’ve been reading, that’s what happens. Good one, Chris, and thanks for sending your readers to the prompt.

  8. Tania says:

    Wow I love this, the flow from one thought to the next is almost tactile.

  9. aprille says:

    Great the way these bits hook into each other, like small harpoons, or barbed wire.
    And taking the project as the topic is also very intriguing.

  10. Gay says:

    Love the word play, the repetitions that crochet the piece together forming a grand design that illuminates and illustrates your thoughts, your ideas. Wonderful textured piece. Excellent Chris.

  11. yoga-adan says:

    you had me popping my own memories in my mind!

    “use a steely knife
    just can’t kill the beast”

    steely dan and hotel california just kinda jammed in together there 😉 despite the lyrics being for the latter, mind jumping!

    nice work chris 😉

    • yoga-adan says:

      ps – great header image! 😉

      • chris says:

        heh-I was surprised more people didn’t mention the hotel california line. 🙂 I found the idea just fit in with the rest of the flow, so I kept it, although at first I considered editing it out. Glad you like my header photo. I took that during a winter walk a couple of years ago. Saw the setting and had to stop.

  12. tigerbrite says:

    I am vegetarian (strange for a tiger but that is too long a story for this comment).
    I related to your steely knife that maybe should cut up your meat and that you could not kill (the beast).

  13. seingraham says:

    Whoa – excellent – I love this! So much concentric, eccentric circling around and out and back in again – very much a stream of consciousness type thing … great poem

    http://aleapingelephant.blogspot.ca/2012/05/drinking-from-mania-cup.html

    • chris says:

      So glad you like it! I think yours is amazing too, the way it follows thought and thought follows music, also circling around and in and out, but mostly forward.

  14. Bodhirose says:

    I love how one thought became transformed into another…that’s exactly how it happens. Really loved your opening quote by Paul McCartney…that started a whole thought process of my own (and memories)…

    • chris says:

      The Beatles’ songs really do carry a lot of memories. The funny thing is, I’d just started to write the SoC piece when that song came to me, and became part of the stream.

  15. Mary says:

    I liked this tonight, as I was i the mood for slip, slip, slipping away! Some days are like that. Your steam of consciousness became mmine.

  16. Love the way this circled around with one thought building upon the next. Very nicely done!

  17. Irene says:

    Fantastic opening, great quote, and you really went with the spirit of it. I enjoyed the word associations that mixed beauty, beast, mind, steak, knife, rain. Really that’s how the mind works, by association. Primitive huh?

  18. janehewey says:

    wonderful. a pleasure to read and read and read. way to ride the “slipstream” , Chris.

  19. Splendid take on the prompt Chris! I love this piece as it has got so much. The concluding para is my favorite… just open the mind
    slip through, ride the slipstream
    stream of conciousness let it take you where it will
    Let your mind wander out when the rain comes in…

    Bows down!

  20. ManicDdaily says:

    So very clever – I especially like the conscientious objection! k.

  21. kelly says:

    I love the way I can actually see the stream of your consciousness as you move along, connecting one thought to another, it is fascinating to see the way the mind works. Great flow and cadence, a perfect response to the prompt!

  22. poemsofhateandhope says:

    So much fun- really enjoyed the interconnected meanderings- that whilst the untamed subconscious. , actually becomes a very rounded and relevant poem! Very nice indeed.

    • chris says:

      It seems that when we let our thoughts ramble, they do eventually coalesce into some kind of a theme. At least I found that happening here. Thanks for the comment.

  23. guevaragema says:

    I love this! It’s so poetic.

What do you think?

