30 photos in 30 days – #4 and #5

early to rise

Early to Rise

I love to get up long before everyone else. Sometimes I discover that magic has happened overnight. I brew coffee by the light of a tiny nightlight-like fixture in the kitchen. When it’s ready, I either turn the light off and watch the first daylight seep into the sky and the rabbit make its way across the yard, or I do a crossword puzzle. The early hours are a treasure of silence and solitude.

late nights

Late Nights

I’m rarely up terribly late, preferring to go to bed early and rise early. Still, sometimes the writing is going so well that I don’t want to stop and lose the energy that’s happening.

The afternoon light has long faded into darkness but I keep typing. Eventually, I must listen to my stomach and go to the kitchen for sustenance. If I’m lucky, there’s a bit of leftover wine from the weekend. Pouring a bit into a glass, I return with some new ideas to the manuscript and before I know it, it’s midnight.

More 30 in 30:

Hilda Oomen, daily paintings: http://hildaoomen.blogspot.ca/
Lynda Bruce, daily paintings:  http://lyndabruce.tumblr.com/tagged/30-paintings-in-30-days
Jennifer Kaufman, almost daily photos: http://www.bookspersonally.com/
Evelyn Jackson, daily photos: http://www.melangedmagic.com/
Sue Borgerson, a daily verse building to a 30-verse poem: http://www.sueborgersen.com
Dorothee Lang, daily video moments: http://virtual-notes.blogspot.de/search/label/smallstone
Andy, a daily photo:  http://decodingstatic.blogspot.com/

Why not join us? Leave your link in a comment, and be sure to visit the others’ blogs to see what they’ve created today.

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in 30 photos in 30 days, Photography, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 30 photos in 30 days – #4 and #5

  1. the window view looks like out of a winter fairy tale book. i wish for some snow, too – will try a snow video then. and the early rising, those quieter hours to start the day, i’m into those, too.

  2. Love that photo out through the window…..makes me want to snuggle up beside a warm fire! I love the house in the early morning too….before everyone else gets up and disturbs it 🙂

    • chris says:

      There’s something about winter that always has that effect on me; I wish I could snuggle by a fire anytime the weather is cold. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  3. Jennifer says:

    Love the different kinds of light in these two pictures, and like you, I love the bookends of the day – early and late have their own magic.

  4. Beautiful photos, Chris. As Dorothee says above, that first one looks like a fairy tale illustration. I thought it was a painting at first — so delicate and lovely.

  5. chris says:

    So glad to see you all taking part! Thanks, everyone, for the kind comments here.

  6. HOomen says:

    Love the window photo too – I have the same early morning ritual. I also have a rabbit – I just left him some scraps of apple peel & lettuce. Mornings are the best part of the day.

    • chris says:

      I’ve tried to leave scraps for the rabbits, but they seem to prefer tree and shrub bark, and tender pine needle shoots. So agree that mornings are the best part of the day. Great for creativity.

  7. I really like these two. The window photo is like a painting; beautiful.

What do you think?

