30 Photos: Day 23 – More from My Alley

cart

My alley isn’t all that long, the road is choppy, and viewed as a unit, it’s nothing special. Through a mindful eye however, the details make it special and beautiful. I love the simplicity of this scene, the spare colour palette, the vibrant green of the leaves and their yellow undersides, the turquoise of the cart and the moss on the bricks.

Unfortunately, someone left a fingerprint on the lens of my camera, which I didn’t notice until I’d already taken a bunch of photos and was viewing them on the computer screen. I almost didn’t post this because of it. On the other hand, that slightly blurry area in the middle adds a mysterious light to the photo. I wonder if anyone would believe that it was an intentional effect.

***

It’s not too late to join our creative 30 in 30 group. Just start posting a photo, painting or other artistic endeavour every day and leave your link in the comments. I’ll gladly add you to the blogroll.

Eight more 30 in 30 blogs:

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in 30 photos in 30 days, Photography, Photos, Viet Nam and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 30 Photos: Day 23 – More from My Alley

  1. Evelyn says:

    I didn’t even notice the little blurry area; I was too busy thinking how lovely it was that the leaves were placed perfectly for your photo! Is the cart really on the front of the bicycle?? That’s something I haven’t seen before.

    • chris says:

      Yes, it’s a type of three-wheeled bicycle called a cyclo. Usually they have a seat in front but this one is strictly for transporting stuff. I’ll do a post about cyclos soon, if I can get a photo of one carrying people. I’ve seen this version in Canada as well, for delivering groceries and that sort of thing. About the blurry area, maybe I shouldn’t have said anything… 🙂

  2. Chris -your blog is so wonderful! Keep up the awesome work!

  3. Jennifer says:

    I like the little blur- the photo has a bit of a retro feel to it and that adds to the effect. Cool bike.

  4. It’s a lovely shot and you make the alley sparkle with life. I think that the blur fits in perfectly with the light flow, softening and not detracting at all 🙂

  5. Really love this photo. Something about it haunts me. Re bicycle – we used to have something similar here, in the days before everyone and his dog drove a car. Such bicycles were used by grocers and butchers for deliveries, and on the odd occasion for transporting a good looking girl! Never knew anything about Vietnam so your photographs are a fascinating revelation.

What do you think?

