Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree

view from under bodhi tree2

The view from under my bodhi tree on a misty morning

Anyone who has been following me on this blog or on Twitter knows that I’ve been working on my book Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, about travelling and living in Viet Nam, for some time now. Several of the essays have already been published. A couple of days ago, Issue 51.2 of PRISM International came out and the title piece of my book is included among the many fine short stories, essays and poems. PRISM has dubbed 51.2 “The Food and Drink Issue”. I haven’t received my copy yet, but with food and drink as the subject, it may just turn out to be my favourite PRISM issue yet.

Under the bodhi tree is where I drink coffee and eat breakfast almost every day these days. My essay is all about the friends, family and neighbours I meet there each day, the two women who prepare the food and coffee, and the bodhi tree itself. Hope you’ll pick up a copy of the issue and join me in my favourite place by the banks of Hue City’s Perfume River.

PRISM will also be posting a selection of my photographs on their website soon. Stay tuned for details!

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, Creative Non-Fiction, Memoir, News, Photography, Photos, Viet Nam and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree

  1. Evelyn says:

    Very pretty spot to enjoy coffee and culture! Are you looking for a publisher for the book or are you going to self-publish?

  2. hi Chris! so good about your Bodhi Tree story in Prism. Congratulations. and i have a mail for you, an idea for the january moments – and looked, but don’t seem to find your mail – could you mail me at editor@blueprintreview.de ? then i mail back. have a lovely weekend – Dorothee

  3. Wonderfully subtle colours that promise something to come.

  4. Very exciting to have Prism publish your story! I’m so pleased for you. The bhodi tree looks like a lovely setting for breakfast every morning. I’ll try not to be too envious. 🙂

What do you think?

