Good News Comes in Threes

It’s been an exciting week. Today, I had the temporary cast for my fractured radius removed and a new one put on. It’ll be another five weeks of struggling to do the simplest things, like buttoning my jeans, opening bottles or washing under my right arm with my right hand. The new cast is even more restricting than the old one.

Just when I was feeling frustrated because it takes so much longer to write now (no dragging and dropping etc.) I received three pieces of great news in less than 24 hours.

Prism Issue 51.2

Prism Issue 51.2

First, I found out that Issue 51.2 of PRISM International has just been released. I’m pleased to announce that the title story of my forthcoming book Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree is among the stories published in this issue, and it’s in fantastic company with stories and poetry by Sarah Selecky, Fiona Tinwei-Lam, Evelyn Lau and others. The giant peach on the cover is the work of photographer and artist Maleonn. Prism will also be featuring a number of my photos of my beloved bodhi tree on their website.

I then learned that my weird and nondual story Mindswitch has been accepted for publication in Impossible Spaces, a forthcoming British anthology from Hic Dragones. The story had been looking for a home for over two years. Several editors said they enjoyed it but it wasn’t right for the particular issue. A couple said they’d very nearly accepted it. It is a weird story with an even weirder ending. I finally decided to alter the ending in a minor way and submit it again. That’s when I saw a call for submissions that seemed like a perfect match. I almost changed the ending back but decided not to.

A good story may have to knock on several doors but eventually, it will find a loving home. Never give up!

I was also pleased to learn that a story by Margrét Helgadóttir, a talented fellow writer, will appear in the anthology too.

My third piece of good news arrived this morning:

Clipboard01

I’m looking forward to receiving my copy of Issue #47. Looks like it’s packed with great writing.

47_Cover_Final4-1

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, Creative Non-Fiction, News, Photography, Viet Nam and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Good News Comes in Threes

  1. Evelyn says:

    Wow…good for you!! I know it doesn’t make the broken arm any less frustrating, but isn’t it nice to have your hard work validated!

  2. sueborgersen says:

    Oh my goodness. Congratulations is a word that doesn’t quite embrace the fireworks I am shooting through my imaginery sky for you. And to all come at once. It takes all (most) of the pain away doesn’t it? Validation indeed. Kinda makes it all worthwhile. I’ll raise a glass to you tonight.

  3. J.A. Pak says:

    Success has got to be the best painkiller? 😉 So happy for you!

  4. My grandmother always said that when one door closes another opens. Your good fortune seems proof of that. Well done.

What do you think?

