The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

award

Thanks, QWF Writes, for nominating me for the “Very Inspiring Blogger” award.

QWF Writes is the Quebec Writers’ Federation’s monthly online column. The QWF does a lot of great work promoting writing in the community. Have a look at their post (linked above, in the first line), to see a list of seven great ways they do this.

The award is a promotional chain for bloggers, a pay-it-forward way of sharing websites bloggers admire.

Here are the guidelines for accepting the award and nominating other bloggers:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and add their link to your blog.
2. List the award rules so your nominees will know what to do.
3. State 7 things about yourself.
4. Nominate other bloggers.
5. Contact your nominees and provide a link to your post.
6. Display the award logo on your blog, whether on your sidebar or about page, or special award page.

Right. So, here are 7 things about me:
1. I’m always grateful for these awards, and what I like most about them is nominating other bloggers. It’s always a challenge to choose just a few blogs from the many great ones out there. What I like least is listing seven things about myself.

2. I’ve been writing for a long time, but I only just this week joined a writers’ group. They are four women, all talented published writers who, like me, write nonfiction. I felt honoured when they invited me to join them. We met a few days ago to discuss and critique each other’s essays and chapters from WIPs. Each person brings a different strength to the critique table, and this promises to be a rewarding experience.

3. Mostly, I write nonfiction, especially about Việt Nam, food, and nature. I do write some short stories, and hope to eventually put a bunch of them together in a book.

4. My current project is a book of personal essays about living in Việt Nam. This may sound familiar, because I’ve been working on the same project for a very long time. A few years, in fact. When I first began, I had a different plan for the book’s setup and style. Then, I wasn’t sure what direction several of the essays should take. Most of them are ready now; eleven have appeared in various literary and travel magazines and anthologies, three are still in the final polishing stage and one of these may get broken into two separate but linked pieces. I’m almost ready for agent-hunting!

5. The book I’m reading now (and enjoying immensely) is  Boundless (Anansi, Cape), Kathleen Winter’s travel memoir about her trip through the Northwest Passage.  The Guardian has a great review, complete with a link to a video of Nathan Rogers performing his father’s song The Northwest Passage.

6. I sometimes write quickly, but usually, slowly, and then spend a long time editing, rereading, editing, polishing, letting it rest, polishing. . . I call it slow writing, and I mused about it in a recent QWF Writes column.

7. I’m relieved to reach the end of this list of facts about me, and will celebrate by making some bread, because I love baking. After that, it’s back to work on the book.

I nominate these blogs:
1. Food, food writing, food photography: Micha’s Food Blog: http://michasfoodblog.com/
Michael Pokorra tries out wines and recipes and writes about them on his bilingual English/German food blog. (If you don’t read German, just scroll down because every single post has an English version.) He accompanies his posts with his own mouthwatering photographs of his beautiful presentations. I hope he collects his recipes in a book soon.
5S9BwyfW

2. Writing, submitting, reading, photography: Margrét Helgadóttir’s blog: https://margrethelgadottir.wordpress.com/
Margrét is a Norwegian-Icelandic expat and writer who writes in English. Her debut book, The Stars Seem so Far Away (Fox Spirit), is out on Feb. 13, 2015 . Margrét is the editor for one published and two forthcoming Fox Spirit anthologies. She is also a talented photographer, and here and there on her blog, you’ll find some real gems, from art photos to street and architecture photography.
(Disclaimer: I was the stylistic editor for this book. )
FS-Star-Seem-So-Front-180ppi-188x300

3. Việt Nam, culture, writing: Michelle Robin La’s website/blog: http://www.michellerobinla.com/
Michelle grew up in the American Midwest, while her husband grew up in Việt Nam. They met in college. She writes about their culturally blended life together, and about her husband’s childhood years in the Mekong Valley. Michelle’s book Catching Shrimp with Bare Hands (ViewPort Publishing) just came out at the end of January. The book is a memoir of her husband’s childhood, as told to her by him.
untitled

About Chris

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Blog Awards, Books, Creative Non-Fiction, Memoir, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Michael says:

    Dear Chris, I am grateful and feeling honored, thank you so much. I will gladly accept this award and opportunity to tell some more about myself in a post as soon as possible 😊 thanks again, and by the way actually I have started to work on a book already… How did you guess 😉

  2. Thanks, Chris. I really enjoy the high-quality writing and photography on your blog. It’s an honor that you’d think of me. Have a great Tết celebration this coming week!

  3. Thank you so much, Chris. I am honoured that you thought of me for this.

  4. Chris says:

    Margrét, your blog is a natural for this award; from your guest author posts to your book reviews and A-Z posts about growing up as a cross-cultural / third culture kid, it’s an inspiring blog indeed.

What do you think?

