Travel Essay “Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam” Shortlisted!

shortlisted
I’m thrilled to have my essay Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam shortlisted for the Third Annual I Must Be Off! Travel Writing Contest.

Writer, traveller, and I Must Be Off! blogger Christopher Allen unveiled the longlist on July 27, but revealed the titles without authors’ names because judge Catherine Sweeney was still choosing the finalists and winners. I was excited to find my essay on the list, and to learn that the semifinalists were chosen from over three hundred entries from 43 countries. It was tough keeping the news quiet, as requested by the contest organisers. And then my essay made it into the finalists! Woohoo!

The shortlisted essays will be published at I Must Be Off! During the month of August. The 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners will be revealed on September 30. One essay will win a Readers’ Choice Award, based on hits and comments.

My essay will be published on the site on Aug 14. I’ll post the link when it’s up.

Thanks, Chris and Catherine, for moving my essay into the final ten, and congratulations to my fellow finalists. It’s great to be in your fine company. Best of luck to you all!

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction, News, Writing Contests and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Travel Essay “Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam” Shortlisted!

  1. Karen Zey says:

    Congratulations Chris! I look forward to reading your essay on August 14 th and learning more through your words about life and culture in Viet Nam.

  2. Caroline says:

    Congratulations! That is wonderful news. Look forward to reading the essay.

  3. Well done, and best of luck. These things are always so nerve-wracking.

    • Chris says:

      Thank you, Dorothy! I refuse to let it be nerve-wracking, but it will be a tense moment when I open my email on the day the winners are announced.

  4. Mary Jane says:

    Congratulations Chris! That is fantastic news. I am impressed by the number of entries and the number of countries participating in the contest. Good job! for making the short list.

    • Chris says:

      Thank you, Mary Jane! The number of countries–indeed. Something from every continent. There must be some fantastic essays amongst the entries.

  5. Susi Lovell says:

    Congratulations! Very exciting news. Keeping my fingers crossed for you and looking forward to reading your essay.

  6. Pat Carew says:

    Congratulations, Chris. I follow your writings and will soon be contacting you about writing a Foreword for my non-fiction book about boat people. More to follow….
    Pat Carew

  7. paola says:

    Well done, Chris! I look forward to reading your entry.

What do you think?

