The Word Every Writer Wants to Hear: Winner!

I Must Be Off Travel Essay Contest Readers' Choice Award 2015

I am pleased to announce that my food/travel essay Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam has won the Readers’ Choice Award in the I Must Be Off! 2015 Travel Essay Contest. It also shares third place with two other Highly Commended entries.

Competition was strong, with over three hundred entries from forty-three countries. A big congratulations to Joel Hindson for his winning essay A Leaf on the Wind, and to second place winner Gabriella Brand for her essay Burning My Boots in Cabo Fisterra.

Joining me in third place, the Highly Commended category, are Gillian Brown with her essay Crossing the Gibb and David Joseph with Sweet Homes. Well done, writers!

My thanks goes to the host of this annual contest, prize-winning author and travel blogger Christopher Allen, and to this year’s judge, travel writer and blogger Catherine Sweeney. Thanks, too, to everyone who read, shared and commented on my essay. I couldn’t have won the award without you.

If you are a travel writer, do mark next spring in your calendar; that’s when Chris Allen announces that this contest is open for submissions.

About Chris Galvin

Chris Galvin is a Canadian writer, editor and photographer dividing her time between Canada and Viet Nam. Her essay Flood Season was a finalist for the 2012 Best of the Net prize, and Discovering Hến Rice in Central Việt Nam won third place (shared) and a Readers’ Choice Award in the 2015 I Must Be Off! Travel Essay Contest. Her work has appeared in various anthologies and literary journals, including Descant, Asian Cha, PRISM International, Room, and others. She has written in Vietnamese and English for Vietnam Tourism Review/Kham Pha Du Lich Vietnam Magazine, Travellive, and Du Lich Giai Tri. Chris is currently looking for a home for her recently completed manuscript, Breakfast Under the Bodhi Tree, a book about living, eating, and tour-guiding in Viet Nam.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction, Memoir, News, Writing Contests and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Word Every Writer Wants to Hear: Winner!

  1. Erin says:

    Woohoo! Congrats! Very well deserved! (Though, you know, I probably would have scored you higher than third.)

  2. pfornari says:

    Well done, Chris. yours was a great story, written very much from the ‘inside’. Loved it.

  3. Susi Lovell says:

    Exciting! Well deserved! Congratulations. Looking forward to many more of your travel essays.

  4. Caroline says:

    Congratulations! I loved your story. Can’t wait to read more.

  5. Well done, that’s a great, and well deserved, achievement.

  6. Mary Jane says:

    Good job Chris! I really enjoyed your story. Congratulations on a well deserved win.

  7. julespaige says:

    Excellent! I’m watching my 2 year old grandchild these days. The older one started school.
    But I still find time to write 🙂

    • Chris says:

      I don’t know how you find time to write with a two-year-old underfoot. I’m guessing naptimes. . .

      • julespaige says:

        Ack… I get up early to have some time to myself. And yes nap time helps 😉
        Evenings and weekends are good too.

        And the prompts, they help 😉 Most often it seems that pieces just write themselves.

        • Chris says:

          I love early mornings for solitude and writing. My eyes don’t seem to appreciate it though. They get tired and strained quickly if I read or look at a screen too early in the morning.

        • julespaige says:

          I only got up early this morning because I retired early last night… Without Little Visitors during the week I would stay up to 10 or 11 pm and get up at 7 or 8 am.

          Thankfully when I make slight blunders… some folks are kind enough to point them out 🙂

          With our own out of the house solitude is easier to find these days. Gees…Louise I’m getting to be an old person, but still young at heart 🙂

What do you think?

